• Font Size

    Font Increase Normal Font Size Font Decrease

    Preferred Colors

    Hight Contrast

  • عربي


The UAE Federal Government established the National Qualifications Authority (NQA) to build a UAE education and training system that includes vocational education and training and improves the system’s relationship with the economy and labour market. The NQA is also responsible for developing and implementing a national qualifications framework for the UAE.
The national qualifications framework for the UAE, called the QFEmirates, is a means of facilitating the design of a coherent classification of qualifications. It consists of a number of levels (10 levels from Certificate 1 to Doctorate), related qualifications and titles of qualifications. The Framework covers school (general) education, vocational education and training, higher education, work-based training, and professional education and training. It also recognises learning acquired through work and life experiences, voluntary activities, and other informal and non-formal activities. The NQA will continuously update and ensure the quality of UAE qualifications keep pace with economic, technological and social progress, and are internationally recognised.
The QFEmirates will help individuals to make decisions about what they want to do next and also to continue learning while working or contributing to their community. It will help them to understand career pathways and progression routes, and the qualifications or skills they need to get a new job or promotion. The QFEmirates will enable individuals to be recognised for the work they do in the workplace and communities as part of their personal and professional development. If they take their qualification abroad or through a school, college or university which is not based in the UAE, the QFEmirates will enable individuals to have their achievements recognised as equivalent to UAE qualifications. This should enable individuals to work abroad without having to take new qualifications.
Individuals need to contact the international body which issued them the award. This body should know if it is recognised in the UAE. If it is not, it is up to the organisation to apply for recognition for its awards. It is not an individual’s responsibility to do this. NQA can only accept requests for recognition of qualifications from organisations, not individuals.
No. NQA’s scope of coverage does not include a) education and training providers seeking to deliver and have accredited their own programs or courses; or b) providers with no desire to deliver national vocational qualifications or awards, or mutually recognised and formally agreed foreign awards. These providers typically operate at a local Emirate level and fall within the scope of responsibility of the local Emirate education and training provider licensure arrangements.
Vocational education and training (VET) means vocational, technical and professional education and training. It is about learning and training with practical application to the world of work. In the UAE, VET includes all forms of learning an individual undertakes and acquires related to a particular ‘vocational related’, ‘occupational oriented’ or further education and training formally-recognised qualification or award, for, or in work, or social development as specified by the Vocational Education and Awards Commission (VETAC).
VETAC is the accreditation/awarding body for vocational, technical and professional development and training in the UAE, auspiced by the National Qualifications Authority.
A national qualification is an accredited qualification recognised within the Qualifications Framework for the Emirates, QFEmirates, which is issued by a licensed learning or training provider, and confirms an individual has achieved the specific learning outcomes as aligned to the QFEmirates. It is made up of relevant national occupational standards (developed by industry not VETAC) which represent the benchmark for competency required in a given occupation within an industry sector. Such a qualification carries a national logo placed on the certificate.
A licensed education and training provider can deliver VETAC-endorsed national vocational qualifications and awards. VETAC evaluates the quality and capability of a provider against a given criteria for licensure, to deliver learning and assessment services. The education and training provider must be legitimate, have integrity, is properly resourced and well managed. Systems and procedures used by the provider to deliver such services must be effective, appropriate, legal, transparent and fair.
Recognition of prior learning (RPL) involves the assessment of previously unrecognised skills and knowledge an individual has achieved outside the formal education and training system. This is assessed against the requirements of a recognised qualification in terms of outcomes to be achieved. Learners will be awarded credit when they have demonstrated that they have successfully met the learning outcomes and assessment criteria of a unit standard(s). Licensed education and training providers are licensed to provide RPL services to individuals.
No. The NQA does not develop curriculum for a course or program, tell providers how to deliver education and training or conduct assessment, or stipulate the discipline of the qualification to be issued (e.g. Bachelor of “Mechanical Engineering”).
No. The NQA does not look at the certificates of individuals. For those who have acquired a qualification from a university abroad this is done by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. For those who have qualifications at high school level this is done by the Ministry of Education Certificate Equivalency Department.
1. Abu Dhabi Centre for Technical and Vocational Education Training
2. Knowledge and Human Development Authority
Accreditation of education and training institutions to deliver a national qualification.
Page last updated on: 10/5/2017 8:13 PM اخر تحديث على الصفحة في: 10/5/2017 8:13 PM